Home LOCAL NEWS Ballymoney business leader among IoD NI Director of the Year Awards finalists

Ballymoney business leader among IoD NI Director of the Year Awards finalists

Press Eye - Belfast - Northern Ireland - 9th December 2019 - Photo by Kelvin Boyes / Press Eye.

Ballymoney business leader Alan Crilly is among the finalists revealed by the Institute of Directors (IoD) for the Northern Ireland Director of the Year Awards in partnership with AIB.

The awards, this year marking their 10th anniversary, celebrate excellence across the public, third, and private sectors with judges choosing 42 entrants to make the shortlist.

Alan, Director of Finance at Triangle Housing has been nominated in the Third Sector Director of the Year category.

In order to adhere with government guidelines on social distancing and to ensure the health and safety of participants, their families, and colleagues, the winners will be announced at a scaled down ceremony to be held at The Merchant Hotel, Belfast in September.

Gordon Milligan, Chairman, IoD NI commented:

“The last number of months have been extraordinary as we have all adapted to new ways of doing business and a new way of doing life in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic.

“In many respects, it has brought out the very best in the Northern Ireland business community as some firms changed their focus to help the national effort to beat the virus, and many others pulled together to support each other financially and in other ways.

“It proved once again the tremendous calibre of business leaders in the region which will also be showcased at our annual Director of the Year Awards.

“Congratulations go to all those to have made the shortlist and we very much look forward to safely celebrating with you at our ceremony in September.”

   This year’s shortlisted directors are:

  1. Director of the Year – Non-Executive – sponsored by Deloitte
  • Diana Fitzsimons
  • Karen Furlong
  • Alex Lee
  • Paul Rothwell
  1. Director of the Year – Innovation – sponsored by KPMG
  • Christine Boyle, Senergy Innovations
  • Daniel Crawford, Axial3D
  • Martin McKay, Texthelp
  • Mark Regan, Kingsbridge Private Hospital
  • Dave Vincent, Tourism NI
  1. Director of the Year – Young – sponsored by Carson McDowell
  • Noeleen Breen, Sixteen South
  • Gareth Irvine, The Copeland Distillery
  • Paul Lawther, Onecom
  • Cara Macklin, Cara Macklin Coach
  • Glenn Speer, Fane Valley
  1. Director of the Year – Public Sector – sponsored by Capita Managed IT Solutions
  • Ronnie Armour, NI Prison Service
  • Anne Donaghy, Mid & East Antrim Borough Council
  • John French, NI Consumer Council
  • Prof Nola Hewitt-Dundas, QUB
  1. Director of the Year – Third Sector – sponsored by Capita Managed IT Solutions   
  • Lynn Carvill, WOMEN’STEC
  • Alan Crilly, Triangle Housing
  • Mark Dougan, The Prince’s Trust
  • Harry McDaid, UCIT
  1. Director of the Year – Family Business – sponsored by BDO Northern Ireland 
  • Gavin Annon, Mount Charles Group
  • David Ausdahl, Lowden Guitars
  • Eugene Clarke, Clarke Facades
  • David Henry, Henry Brothers Ltd
  • Eddie McKeever, McKeever Hotel Group
  1. Director of the Year – International – sponsored by Invest Northern Ireland
  • Terry Cross, Hinch Distillery
  • Kieran Kennedy, O’Neills
  • Brian Reid, Deli Lites
  • Alana Rodgers, Ulster Weavers
  1. Director of the Year – Small to Medium Business – sponsored by Ulster University Business School
  • Noeleen Breen, Sixteen South
  • Eamonn Bunting, Outsource Solutions
  • Gareth Hagan, OCO Global
  • Sinead Higgins, Decision Time
  • Peter Thomas, DLRT
  1. Director of the Year – Inclusivity – sponsored by ABL Group
  • John Healey, Allstate
  • Terry Moore, Outsource Solutions
  • Ciaran Moynagh, Phoenix Law
  1. Director of the Year – Large Business – sponsored by Amplifi Solutions
  • Colin Johnston, Galgorm Group
  • Trevor Lockhart, Fane Valley
  • Michael McCormack, Musgrave Group

Also to be awarded on the day will be the Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice, sponsored by AIB, while the ceremony will also see the inaugural presentation of the Philanthropist of the Year, Community Foundation Northern Ireland award.

Adrian Moynihan, Head of AIB NI, added:

“The last few months have delivered a serious test of leadership across all walks of life. As we emerge from COVID-19 lockdown and begin to focus on rebuilding the economy, strong leadership across the business sector will be crucial to our success. As we face the twin challenges of the pandemic fallout and the impending Brexit implications, what better time to recognise and celebrate the leaders making a real difference in Northern Ireland.

“This year’s shortlist is very impressive and highlights a clear commitment to strong and innovative leadership that is undoubtedly contributing to the success of their respective organisations and Northern Ireland as a whole.

“We commend all those who entered this year’s awards and look forward to joining with them and IoD to celebrate the exceptional leaders making a significant impact on Northern Ireland’s future success. While this year’s event may be delivered differently its purpose and importance has never been more relevant.”

The awards ceremony, which will be attended by finalists and sponsors only to ensure social distancing, will take place on Friday 11th September.